All Hail the King – Viswanathan Anand

At a time when the Indian sports fans were mourning their overhyped cricket team crashing out of the Twenty20 World Cup, Viswanathan Anand gave a big reason to cheer.  Anand retained the world chess championship beating Veselin Topalov in Sofia, Bulgaria by 6.5 to 5.5 points.

After playing exhaustive chess for over three decades, Viswanathan Anand has assured himself a place among all time greats as he retained the World Champion title with consummate ease against Veselin Topalov in his own den in Sofia, Bulgaria on Tuesday.

With the win Anand has accomplished something which no other chess great, not even Garry Kasparov has done. He has asserted his supremacy in the world by winning the title in every possible format of tournament including winning the world chess title three times in a row and against various opponents including two different ones in match format.

He has won in knock-out, round-robin and two matchplay formats to give an apt answer his critics that he cant stand the test of time. Anand now has to his credit a rare combination of the consecutive three World Champion title and four in all including the knockout format that he won in 2000.

He has been awarded many prestigious titles like Chess Oscars for three times on the trot. He is the only non-Russian other than Bobby Fischer to win the award after the tradition was reinstated.

He has also been bestowed with the inaugural Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, India’s highest sporting honour, in 1991, besides the Arjuna Award, the Padmashri (the youngest recipient of the title), Padma Bhushan, the Soviet Land Nehru award, the BPL Achievers of the World, Sportstar, Sportsworld “Sportsman of the year 1995” Award.

Anand, who shifted to Spain in — for better opportunities, has received the ‘Jameo de Oro’ the countries highest civilian award given to a foreigner.

Read the full news here

To watch all the matches, go here and click on the animated moves.

Above picture courtesy: Telegraph


One Comment

  1. B K CHOWLA says:

    It is time that the Govt gave highest award to him.

Comments are closed.